Asia Cup 1

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule, Teams, Fixtures, Indian Team Players List

Beginning on August 27, 2022, the 15th iteration of the Asia Cup is slated to begin, and the championship match is scheduled to take place on September 11, 2022. After Sri Lanka pulled out of hosting the event, the first match for Team India will take place on August 28 in the United Arab Emirates against their bitter rivals, Pakistan. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is expected to reveal the Indian team that will compete in the Asia Cup in 2022 on August 8, according to several sources. It is anticipated that the BCCI would use the same Indian side to compete in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup beginning in October 2022.

Asia Cup 2022

The Asian Cricket Council made the long-awaited announcement on the Asia Cup schedule after a number of setbacks and periods of reflection. The Cup’s most recent iteration, an ODI competition, took place in 2018 for the last time. When the epidemic struck the world in 2020, the cricketing nations of Asia were all poised to compete against one another in the Twenty20 format on the grounds where the games would be played. Because of this, the event was put off until a later date. The delays were so significant that the competition will now take place two years after it was originally scheduled.

Name of the Tournament Asia Cup 2022
Conducted By Asian Cricket Council or ACC
Hosted By Sri Lanka Cricket or SLC
Year 2022
Game Cricket
Format T20
Last Edition 2018
Defending Champion India
Number of Participating Teams 6
Dates August 2022-September 2022
Venue of Matches Sri Lanka

In light of the fact that the epidemic has begun to abate and that the globe is moving closer to a scenario in which COVID does not represent a significant concern, the Asia Cup is scheduled to be contested in the year 2022. The Asian Council of Cricket (ACC) has revealed the tournament’s site and timetable, which both may be seen below. In the following write-up, you’ll find all the information you need, including the Asia Cup 2022 Match Dates, Team Players, Fixtures, and much more. Check it out!

Asia Cup Schedule 2022 

The primary competition will include a total of six teams competing in two groups each. Group A consists of India, Pakistan, and the qualifier, whilst Group B is comprised of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. One game will be played between each of the teams in the group. The top two teams will advance to the Super 4 phase, which will consist of the teams competing against each other in league style once more before the championship match, which will include just the top two teams.

The tournament will be played in the Twenty20 format since it will provide a significant warm-up opportunity for the six Asia countries who are competing in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup, which is scheduled to take place in Australia in the latter half of this year. The competition will be held in Asia.

Asia Cup Teams

There has not been an announcement of squads made by any of the teams who will be competing in the Asia Cup. The most recent information on the matter will, in a short while, be made accessible on this page. Continue to check back in here for the most up-to-date information on the various teams. The United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Singapore, and Hong Kong will compete in a qualifying round, with the victor moving on to participate in the main tournament with India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

The future Asia Cup in 2022 will include a total of six different teams competing. One team from each of Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore, and the United Arab Emirates will qualify for the competition and join the other teams there. Currently, there are five teams who have already qualified for the event.

Asia Cup Fixtures

It was agreed back in 2018 that Pakistan will be the host country for the Asia Cup in 2020. On the other hand, as a result of the political difficulties that exist between India and Pakistan, India insisted on the condition that all participants withdraw from the event. The ACC came to the conclusion that it would not reconsider its earlier choice to award hosting duties to Pakistan. India abstained from offering a supportive response to the decision that was made by the council.

The most recent time Pakistan played host to an Asia Cup was in 2008. After that, in 2009, on Pakistani soil, terrorists attacked the Sri Lankan national football team, which had an effect on the decision made by the Council to consider Pakistan as a possible location. In later negotiations, Pakistan suggested moving the venue to a neutral site, which was accepted. The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) made the decision to award the 2020 Asia Cup to Sri Lanka.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!